(205) 912- 700 x 1312 

Home Builders Association Installs Officers, Presents Annual Awards

Birmingham, Alabama – The Greater Birmingham Association of Home Builders (GBAHB) installed its 2015 officers at the annual Officer Installation and Christmas Banquet on Friday, December 12, 2014, at the Vestavia Country Club. GBAHB also recognized members who have gone above the call of duty this year with the annual awards presentation.
Kyle Murphy of Murphy Home Builders, LLC received the Al Awtrey Builder of the Year Award. Murphy was recognized for his support of the GBAHB by building the 2014 GBAHB Ideal Home featured in the 2014 Parade of Homes. 

Cindy Davis of Davis Designs was awarded the Buddy Berry Lifetime Achievement Award. She has chaired committees, recruited members and much more during her 30- year membership with GBAHB.



2014 Remodelers Council President Tim Flynn with Southern Window Supply received the Remodeler of the Year award. Flynn has held several leadership positions during his 25-year membership with GBAHB and is a member of the GBAHB Hall of Fame.


Susan Taylor of Mr. Bugg’s Pest Control received the Associate of the Year award. Taylor served as Associates Council Chairman in 2014.


This year three individuals were inducted into the GBAHB Housing Hall of Fame, which was established in 1981. Doug Eddleman of Eddleman Properties was inducted as a builder member, Johnny Sims of Alabama Power was inducted as an associate member and Sen. Cam Ward was the legislative inductee.


The following were installed as 2015 GBAHB Senior Officers:





President- Rusty Fowler






1st Vice President- Kyle Murphy








2nd Vice President/Treasurer- Clint Lovette







3rd Vice President/Secretary- Marshall Newport







Associate Vice President- Clay Harbin







Past President- Jeremy Wright







Presidential Appointee- George Williams







Presidential Appointee- Alicia Huey



The 2015 Board of Directors include: Colt Byrom, Elliott Pike, Will Kinnebrew, David Brady, Scott Masters, Mike McKay, Russ Doyle, George Kurtts, Jonathan Belcher, Katherine Higgins, Erin Dunavant and Anita Latham.


The following council and committee chairpersons were installed:

Mary Steadman- Associates Council

Nicole York- Birmingham Apartment Association

George Kurtts- Master Builder/Master Remodeler

David Estreicher- Past Presidents of the Associates Council

Jeremy Wright- Past Presidents Council

Kelly Watson- Remodelers Council

Tony Birk & Steve Shoemaker- Sales & Marketing Council

Katherine Higgins- Professional Women in Building

Peggy Turner- ABPAC


The GBAHB is the fifth largest local home builders association in the nation, representing more than 1,100 members in the Birmingham area. For more information about the GBAHB call 205-912-7000 or visit You can follow the GBAHB on Twitter at or Facebook at